//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Book Review: Christ-Centered Preaching

Book: Christ-Centered Preaching

I think this is the best book that I have read on expository preaching. It goes into great detail regarding the structure and mindset behind preaching. It is a wonderful tool for anyone interested in sharpening their preaching ability or helping to develop sermons. I love the questions at the end of each chapter, it is a great way to review and an awesome resource for teaching.

I give this 4 out of 5 stars. It would have received 5 stars except that it is a bit on the dry side. If it was just a little more engaging in the text itself it would have received all 5 stars.

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Christ-Centered Preaching

  1. Have you read any of Clowney’s stuff on redemptive-historical preaching? I agree that Chapell’s book is good. Did you read the new edition or the old one?

    Posted by greenbaggins | October 7, 2006, 6:46 pm
  2. I have never read Clowney’s stuff, but i would be very interested in recommendations.
    I read Chapell’s old edition.
    Because of my love for reading, my pastor lets me take books out of his library, so most of the books that i read from there are older editions.
    But books that i really like, like Chapell’s i usually end up ordering – then i get the new edition.

    Posted by theologian | October 7, 2006, 6:56 pm
  3. Clowney has written three books on preaching: _Unfolding Mystery: Discovering Christ in the Old Testament_, _Preaching and Biblica Theology_, and _Preaching Christ in All of Scripture_. They can all be ordered at my alma mater’s bookstore here:
    http://www.wtsbooks.com
    Another great book on interpreting the whole Bible from a lay person’s perspective is the _Goldsworthy Trilogy_, by Graeme Goldsworthy. Great stuff.

    Posted by greenbaggins | October 7, 2006, 7:35 pm
  4. Thanks for the recommendations. I will definitely put some of those on my “books to get” list.

    Posted by theologian | October 7, 2006, 7:41 pm
  5. Geeherdus Vos’ “Bibical Preaching” is an asset to anyone looking to firmly grasp solid historical-redemptive preaching as opposed to the systematic approach.

    Posted by David McCrory | October 11, 2006, 7:34 pm

Leave a Reply

