//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Bible Versions – ESV and NASB

I don’t know if anyone has had a similar experience, but here’s what happens regarding these 2 versions with me.

When i am reading a Bible translation, but not the original languages, i tend to gravitate toward the ESV.

When i am reading the original languages along with my Bible translation, i gravitate toward the NASB.

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Bible Versions – ESV and NASB

  1. This is kind of off the subject. šŸ™‚ I have been a NASB guy for a long time. I toyed with going to the NKJV for the sake of the Reformation Bible, but never did. I am now thinking seriously about the ESV.

    This may just be me, but the reason I have yet to take the plunge to the ESV is that every one I have picked up has a paper weight that is just too thin for my taste (although I haven’t checked the hardback version). I may have to wait ’til Crossway wises up and includes another paper type or another publisher gets involved.

    Posted by Gomarus | October 23, 2006, 4:43 pm
  2. You might want to wait on the ESV just a little longer anyway. They are supposed to come out with a revision in 2007.

    I do find the ESV Reformation Study Bible to be a bit better format that some of the others…
    http://www.christianbook.com/Christian/Books/product?item_no=27869&netp_id=356400&event=EBRN&item_code=WW

    Posted by theologian | October 23, 2006, 4:58 pm
  3. I can’t read the original languages, yet. šŸ™‚ I love the ESV, but I go back and forth with the NASB. I thought the ESV Interlinear looked interesting. I am keeping that in mind if I ever buckle down enough to get past the greek alphabet. LOL.

    Posted by Joshua | October 24, 2006, 3:12 am
  4. Joshua,

    If you are interested in the original languages, here are a couple of great sites for learning them…

    http://www.ntgreek.net/index.htm

    http://www.ancient-hebrew.org/7_home.html

    Posted by theologian | October 24, 2006, 3:30 pm
  5. Thanks, think I have the greek one saved. I am working through Mounce, Basics of Biblical Greek in conjunction with his extra material on his website. The alphabet is easy, but the dipthongs and breathing marks are making me NOT want to study šŸ™‚ I just need to crack down on it.

    Posted by Josh | October 24, 2006, 7:37 pm

Leave a Reply

