//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Verse of the Week

Jn 14:6 (NASB) – Jesus *said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.

—–
This verse speaks volumes as to the nature of God. God’s attributes are part of His essence. He not only shows the way, He is the way. He not only tells the truth, He is truth. He not only has life, He is life.

Human nature is quite different. Someone can say something funny without being naturally funny. Someone can say something intelligent without being naturally intelligent.

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Verse of the Week

  1. Gee, Larry, surely you don’t mean to suggest that Jesus is the “only” way. That seems a little intolerant. What will the Jews, Muslims, and Buddhists think? Wouldn’t it be more appropriate to simply say that Jesus is “a way”?

    Oh, wait a minute. You were quoting Scripture. Hmmm.

    Posted by Gomarus | October 27, 2006, 2:54 pm
  2. Hopefully the Jews, Muslims, and Buddhists will think that they are hanging over the very fires of Hell and cling to Christ for their salvation.

    It’s funny how those folks react to the Gospel sometimes. I had a friend who was a serious Buddhist, and she asked me directly, “Am I going to Hell?” I was very direct with answering in the affirmative. It’s interesting because i think she would have had less respect for me if i soft peddled my answer.

    We can thank God that we are only responsible to proclaim the truth, we are not responsible to convert the heart of a sinner. 😉

    Posted by theologian | October 27, 2006, 3:06 pm
  3. Amen to that brother! My responsibility is not to convince or convert, but to proclaim the truth.

    BTW, didn’t you have an “About” page at one time that introduced yourself to your readers? Has that been intentionally omitted? Just curious.

    Posted by Gomarus | October 27, 2006, 3:18 pm
  4. Thanks for bringing that up. When i changed my sidebar i must have accidentally deleted it. I will try to put it back up on the sidebar.

    Posted by theologian | October 27, 2006, 3:33 pm
  5. I noticed that this morning as well. I thought its omission was intentional 😦

    Posted by Josh | October 27, 2006, 6:13 pm
  6. The “About” page is back up on the sidebar 🙂
    Thanks again for pointing it out.

    Posted by theologian | October 27, 2006, 6:17 pm
  7. Larry,

    I want to invite you to be a contributing poster at my blog. I gave you a login accout, so if you are interested email me and Ill send you the login I made. kymanika@gmail.com

    If you are not interested, thats just as cool.

    Posted by Josh | October 28, 2006, 10:30 am
  8. no update today? I probably added 30 hits to your site just checking. 🙂

    Posted by Josh | October 28, 2006, 7:12 pm
  9. I normally don’t update on the weekends. But i already have an idea of what Monday’s update will be. It will be similar to my “Favorite Uncial” blog…
    https://theologian.wordpress.com/2006/08/03/favorite-uncial/
    But this one will focus on Papyrus.
    Oh, and i will give my favorite uncial and papyrus in the blog as well.

    Posted by theologian | October 28, 2006, 9:30 pm
  10. Help me out a bit here, Larry. I totally agree with your theology about Jesus, and the way the deity works as contrasted with how humans work. But I’m having a bit of difficulty seeing how you get that from the text. It’s probably there, but I’m not quite seeing it right now.

    Posted by greenbaggins | October 29, 2006, 10:42 pm
  11. Greenbaggins,

    The contrast between human and divine in the passage relates to how Jesus claims to BE the way and the truth and the life, and not just possess a way and a truth and a life. My point was that a human can exhibit an attribute without it being part of his essence, but God’s attributes are part of His essence and never something added to His essence.

    I fear that i am making this more complicated the more i talk about it. I am trying very hard to craft my words so as not to fall into any particular heresy 🙂

    An example may work better. A human can say something funny (exhibit the attribute of humor) without being a funny person in his essence. God does not do anything outside of His innate nature, so if He exhibits humor it is because it is part of His essence.

    I hope that clears it up, but a fear i may have muddied it even more.

    Posted by theologian | October 30, 2006, 2:04 am

Leave a Reply

