//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Jn 11:48

If we let him go on like this, everyone will believe in him, and the Romans will come and take away both our place and our nation.” (Joh 11:48, ESV)

It struck me as interesting that the chief priests and Pharisees thought that if everyone believed in Jesus the nation would be destroyed. Ironically it was because of their unbelief that their nation was destroyed.

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Jn 11:48

  1. Hmm, I like that. Nice point. Of course if you were a old school dispensationalist, you would have to call the Church plan B, since Israel refused plan A.

    Posted by Josh | November 2, 2006, 12:02 am
  2. I was just thinking about dispensationalists the other day. I was going to blog it, but couldn’t figure out quite how to structure it. Anyway, here was my thought…

    One of the most heard mantras from the dispensational camp is that because Israel is a country now that proves their theology.

    I was considering this and started asking myself, “Is the Israel of today the Biblical Israel?”I don’t think we should hang our theology on the pin of Israel simply because it exists, without any Biblical reference to it.

    The bottom line is that Israel as revealed in the Bible does not exist today, and has not existed since the destruction of the Temple. There is no temple, there are no sacrifices, and the nation itself is not a theocracy. The Israel of today shows no real parallel with the Israel of the Bible.

    Posted by theologian | November 2, 2006, 2:07 am
  3. Israels existance is a strong point for Dispensationalism. However it is also a strong point for Amillenialsim. Many Amillenialists also affirm a “national” conversion.

    Think of it this way. How would this happen if Israel did not exist? If the Hebrews were diluted with every other race?

    I think it is significant Israel is a nation today, and that they deny the Messiah.

    I wish I could take credit for that observation, but I got it from Riddlebarger on his blog a few months ago. It was a stong enough point that it stuck with me.

    Posted by Josh | November 2, 2006, 2:52 am
  4. Great point.
    I noticed on your blog that you read “A Case for Amill…” That’s on my “books to get” list. How was it?

    Posted by theologian | November 2, 2006, 3:45 am
  5. I enjoyed it. I think it is one of the best presentations and answers most objections extremly well. I have read Cox, Hoekema, and a few others and Riddlebarger was my favorite.

    I still have a tough time seeing a seperation in Rev 19-20, and I was not completely satisfied with Satans binding.

    I think that and his Man of Sin are both worth having.

    Posted by Josh | November 2, 2006, 1:02 pm

Leave a Reply

