//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Most Important of the 5 Solas

I was considering the 5 Solas…

  • Sola Scriptura (Scripture Alone)
  • Solus Christus (Christ Alone)
  • Sola Gratia (Grace Alone)
  • Sola Fide (Faith Alone)
  • Soli Deo Gloria (Glory to God Alone)

And I got to thinking, is there one that stands above the others in logical order?

I believe it is “Glory to God Alone.” The reason i think this is because that is the end purpose in all of God’s creation. As it is the end purpose of God, all other things (including the other 4 solas) work to that end.

Any thoughts?

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Most Important of the 5 Solas

  1. I think I would agree. I was contemplating making a case for Sola Gratia, but all in all it is God’s glory that is primary, from his perspective and ours. I believe we can see this as a motivating thought that underlies much in the writings of the Reformers.

    Would it be proper to regard this “Soli Deo Gloria” as a guiding principle in hermeneutics?

    Posted by Gomarus | November 3, 2006, 4:54 pm
  2. I would think that it should be a guiding principle in hermeneutics.

    Posted by theologian | November 3, 2006, 6:32 pm
  3. I agree with this. Furthermore, I think WSC 1 agrees with this.

    Posted by greenbaggins | November 4, 2006, 9:11 pm
  4. I am a bit of my rocker, but being Baptist, I am allowed. I was thinking Sola Scriptura. It was back to the bible that brought the reformation, reset hermeneutics to the analogy of faith, and restored salvation in Christ alone, by faith alone, through grace alone. If we lose Sola Scriptura again, we lose the rest, indeed I think we already are.

    Posted by Josh | November 5, 2006, 2:51 pm
  5. Interesting perspective Josh.
    Perhaps Sola Scriptura could be considered the most important for our practical purposes, and Soli Deo Gloria could be the most important from God’s perspective and as the purpose that the rest are reaching for.

    After all, even the Scriptures are there to serve the end of God’s glory, but God’s glory is not there to serve any other end.

    Posted by theologian | November 5, 2006, 9:55 pm
  6. Hmm. I agree with you. You can have Sola Scriptura and not glorify God. I spent enough wasted years of my life doing just that. In every age, God has raised men who glorify Him, and it seems even more so in those ages when the bible was not accessible to everyman.

    So, Sola Scriptura is most important inso far as it brings us to glorify God. I probably should amend my above statement to say that it was out of Glorifying God that brought us back to Sola Scriptura which brought us the rest.

    Posted by Josh | November 5, 2006, 10:15 pm
  7. I agree 100%

    Posted by Jonathan Moorhead | November 6, 2006, 4:39 pm

Leave a Reply

