//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Verse of the Week

For where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I among them. (Mat 18:20, ESV)

What a wonderful statement on the church. As we have relationships with each other in Christ’s name we are having a relationship with Christ.

Perhaps we can take this verse together with Mat 25:40 – And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

Surely this idea that when we are bound to one another we are also bound to Christ ought to compel us to strive for a loving brotherhood in the church.

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Verse of the Week

  1. I think that this verse is very interesting in that it is in the context of church discipline. Jesus means to assure the disciples that if they need to exercize church discipline, Jesus will be there in their midst.

    Posted by greenbaggins | November 11, 2006, 12:21 am
  2. I also find that it is extremely Kingdom focused. And that’s the kind of focus we need when we come together to worship!

    Posted by theologian | November 11, 2006, 1:05 am

Leave a Reply

