//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Thanksgiving and the Unbeliever

As Thanksgiving is upon us i got to thinking…I know that Christian households can spend time thanking God for their many blessings on this day. But who do unbelievers thank?

You always hear of general thoughts like…”i am thankful for my job”…”i am thankful for my family”, but who are they really giving thanks to?

If pressed, would an unbeliever admit that being thankful for their job is really thanking themselves for having the skill to perform their job?

Is being thankful for their family really thanking their parents for bringing them into this world?

Or is it just a general feeling of thankfulness with no direct object to direct the thankfulness towards?

Thanksgiving without the proper object as its focus is just as bad as faith without the proper object as its focus.

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving and the Unbeliever

  1. I was also thinking, can a Christian who is out of work, or who lost a loved one, be unthankful? I am not pointing fingers to anyone but myself, I am more superficial than I want to admit.

    It seems we are thankful for the easy life’s we have. I am thankful for one thing, my redemption in Jesus Christ. As are all our brothers and sisters. Those in China, Those in Muslim countries, those martyred, those persecuted.

    We are thankful for getting fat on a huge spread, while our brothers starve. I complain because I cannot afford the newest book on theology, and my brothers do not even have a bible.

    This year I will thank God for his mercy, repent for being lazy and gluttonous, and ask for Him to use me in a greater way for the Kingdom.

    Posted by Josh | November 23, 2006, 6:56 pm
  2. Excellent point Josh.
    We are not always thankful for the situations that we may be in, but we are always thankful in God.

    Posted by theologian | November 23, 2006, 8:15 pm
  3. And my comment sounded more “heavy” than I was intending. I like how you put all that into one single sentence, “We are not always thankful for the situations that we may be in, but we are always thankful in God”

    Posted by Josh | November 23, 2006, 9:26 pm
  4. Good thoughts. A thankfulness not grounded in Christ, it a superfical thankfulness that will ultimately burn with the hay and stubble. All people are able to feel some emotional sense of thankfulness, but it is far from being truly thankful.

    Posted by David McCrory | November 25, 2006, 3:49 pm

Leave a Reply

