//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Excuses For Not Coming to the Banquet

I may be reaching here, but i saw what appears to be an interesting parallel in the Scriptures.

The parable of the banquet…

But he said to him, “A man once gave a great banquet and invited many. And at the time for the banquet he sent his servant to say to those who had been invited, ‘Come, for everything is now ready.’ But they all alike began to make excuses. The first said to him, ‘I have bought a field, and I must go out and see it. Please have me excused.’ And another said, ‘I have bought five yoke of oxen, and I go to examine them. Please have me excused.’ And another said, ‘I have married a wife, and therefore I cannot come.’ (Luk 14:16-20, ESV)

The rules for warfare and who is excused…

Then the officers shall speak to the people, saying, ‘Is there any man who has built a new house and has not dedicated it? Let him go back to his house, lest he die in the battle and another man dedicate it. And is there any man who has planted a vineyard and has not enjoyed its fruit? Let him go back to his house, lest he die in the battle and another man enjoy its fruit. And is there any man who has betrothed a wife and has not taken her? Let him go back to his house, lest he die in the battle and another man take her.’ (Deu 20:5-7, ESV)

The excuses pretty much mirror each other…

banquet excuses: bought a field and must see it, bought oxen and not examined them, married a wife
warfare excuses: built a house and not dedicated it, planted a vineyard and has not enjoyed it, married a wife

So the first excuse has to do with property, the second with having fruitful fields (the oxen would imply plowing a field to make it fruitful), and the last has to do with marriage.

This is interesting to me as the excuses for warfare are proper excuses, but those of the banquet are not. It is as if those invited to such a great celebration treated it as if it was going off to war. Talk about turning something upside down!

When we start calling something bad that God calls good we are indeed in trouble.

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Excuses For Not Coming to the Banquet

  1. Very interesting thought, Larry. Thanks.

    Posted by greenbaggins | November 28, 2006, 8:14 pm
  2. Loved it!

    Posted by Josh | November 29, 2006, 1:54 pm

Leave a Reply

