//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Prov 9:13

I don’t really like the way the ESV translates this verse…

The woman Folly is loud; she is seductive and knows nothing.

The “seductive” part just doesn’t seem to fit in with the being loud and knowing nothing. It seems very much out of place in the sentence.

The Hebrew word behind it is pethayuth, which means simple or naive.

I much prefer the NASB here…

The woman of folly is boisterous, She is naive and knows nothing.

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Prov 9:13

  1. I agree, that is odd. Surley they had some rationale for choosing the word “seductive.” I wonder what it could have been.

    Posted by Gomarus | November 29, 2006, 3:31 pm
  2. In the Reformation Study Bible the note says…

    “The sensuous appeal of folly contrasts with wisdom as the teacher”

    But i think that is reading too much into the text.

    Posted by theologian | November 29, 2006, 3:38 pm
  3. That indeed is a strange rendering of the text. That is why you should only use the King James!!!

    Kidding…

    Posted by Seth McBee | November 30, 2006, 3:10 am
  4. The ESV is one of my favorite versions, but it is little things like this that drive me crazy with it. Once i see the updates they are making in the 2007 version i am hoping some of this stuff will be taken care of.

    Long live the King James Version šŸ˜‰

    Posted by theologian | November 30, 2006, 3:10 pm

Leave a Reply

