//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Codex Bezae on the Sabbath

There is an interesting passage at Lk 6:5 in Codex Bezae regarding the Sabbath that reads…

“On the same day seeing some one working on the Sabbath, He said to him: man, if you know what you do, blessed are you; but if you do not know, you are cursed and a transgressor of the law.” 

Any thoughts on the validity of this?

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Codex Bezae on the Sabbath

  1. I believe it carries some validity to it. Reformed Theology teaches there are three types of work appropriate for the Sabbath; Works of mercy, Works of ministry, and Works of necessity. Outside of these it would appear other types of work, say for gainful reasons, would be prohibited.

    Posted by David McCrory | January 2, 2007, 6:22 pm
  2. There seems to be some validity to it. Reformed Thought recognizes three types of work appropriate for the Sabbath; Works of Mercy, Ministry & Necessity. Other forms of labor, such as for personal gain, seem prohibited.

    Posted by David McCrory | January 2, 2007, 6:27 pm
  3. Larry, I don’t know if your getting this, but I tried posted a comment, but it hasn’t shown up.

    Posted by David McCrory | January 2, 2007, 6:28 pm
  4. That one went.

    Posted by David McCrory | January 2, 2007, 6:29 pm
  5. Ok, here’s what I was going to say…

    Reformed thought recognizes three types of works for the Sabbath, Works of Mercy, Ministry, and Necessity.

    Other types of work, such as for personal gain, seem prohibited.

    Posted by David McCrory | January 2, 2007, 6:30 pm
  6. David,

    For some reason it was under my spam protector.
    I don’t have any kind of filtering except spam, and i don’t usually check that as it hasn’t been a problem before. Kind of strange.

    Posted by theologian | January 2, 2007, 6:33 pm
  7. Wierd, same thing happened to Ponter today on my blog.

    Posted by Josh | January 2, 2007, 7:01 pm
  8. You can delete to repeats, if you want and then this one as well.

    Posted by David McCrory | January 2, 2007, 7:36 pm
  9. I am having similar problems with spam on Reformed Covenanter.

    Posted by Daniel Ritchie | January 4, 2007, 8:24 am

Leave a Reply

