//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Limited and Unlimited Atonement Miss the Point

A really good article at Kingdom People Blog regarding limited and unlimited atonement. Here are some excerpts…

The atonement is limited in its application because Jesus’ blood covers only those who put their trust in him. In this sense, Jesus is the Lord over his church, a particular group of people who have been “called out” from among all tribes and tongues and nations.

In another sense, the atonement is unlimited, because Jesus did not come only to die for the sins of his elect (the limited position), nor even for the sins of all people (the unlimited position), but in order that the entire universe might be brought back into the shalom for which it was originally created. In this sense, Scripture can speak of Jesus’ atonement being universal in scope

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Limited and Unlimited Atonement Miss the Point

  1. Been a slow blog weekend aint it 🙂

    I am just swamped. I think I should have just taken one class instead of two.

    Isnt this the same as Flynn’s position? Theology is like buying a new car.

    You never notice whats on the road, but as soon as you buy a car, you see it everywhere. I have not found much yet, but since Flynn started posting, I am starting to see similar posts (refuting or accepting) on blogs.

    Posted by Josh | January 10, 2007, 1:27 am
  2. It is interesting to see how the blogosphere sometimes feeds off of itself as well.

    Sometimes it’s enlightening to see the same topic from a slightly different perspective.

    I don’t really agree with the post on Kingdom People Blog, just thought their perspective was interesting.

    I don’t see the atonement as being for all of creation per say, but for elect mankind. As atonement has to do with compensating for a wrong, and man was the one who sinned and brought all of creation crashing down with him. So since man subjected all of creation to the fall through his sin, so to all of creation is in a sense redeemed through the atonement of man. But it is still man that is atoned, not general creation.

    o.k., i’m rambling again 🙂

    Posted by theologian | January 10, 2007, 4:03 am
  3. Its better to ramble on a blog than to not post at all 🙂

    I am persuaded by Flynn arguments, we talk on the phone off and on. I am still not sure how it is not 4-pt Calvinism. I think eventually he will explain that part.

    I was originally surprised by the Calvin quotes, I am not schooled enough with Calvin to know if there is a counter.

    What catches my attention so far is the viewing what was forgiven by Christ death. Like, say 10 thieves are awarded 40 lashes each by the King. The kings son says Ill take the 40 lashes for them. Does he take 40X10 lashes or 40 lashes. Does he pay each persons individual penalty or does he pay the required penalty for stealing.

    Ok my turn to ramble 🙂 Well homework is done, off ta bed.

    Posted by Josh | January 10, 2007, 4:34 am
  4. To tell you the truth i have stopped reading Flynn after the first couple of postings that we had interacted on. I have just been way too busy.

    He seems like a very smart guy who knows his theology.

    Posted by theologian | January 10, 2007, 1:33 pm

Leave a Reply

