//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

R.L. Dabney – Recurring Suggestions

In Dabney’s Systematic Theology, pg. 275, he says some great things about recurring suggestions that we can definitely apply to many things today including the type of entertainment we allow ourselves to partake of.

…vivid suggestions recurring too often always evoke a morbid action of the soul. The same subject of anxiety, for instance, too frequently recalled, begets an exaggerated anxiety…the victim of religious melancholy has no respite…[Satan] can help to propagate it by securing the too constant recurence of subjects of spiritual doubt or anxiety…the only successful mode to deal with the victims of these attacks is by producing diversion of the habitual trains of thought and feeling…How powerful is the motive to prayer…The duty of watchfulness against temptations…avoid overcoming and inordinate emotions about any object…abstain from a too constant pursuit of any carnal object…how beneficent is the interruption of secular cares by the Sabbath’s break.

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “R.L. Dabney – Recurring Suggestions

  1. Most Excellent Post. I never connected that idea with why 1.)we continue to sin and 2.) sins of choice do not remain static but degrade (grow more depraved)

    Take television as an example. What we see on an average episode of Law and Order, would never have been shown in the 50’s. In my own lifetime TV language has changed as to what is acceptable and not acceptable.

    I am not saying TV is sin, I am saying the history of TV is great for showing how we get used to stuff, and “unacceptable” keeps getting pushed to the left.

    We do the same by giving into sin. We get calloused to it, and the unacceptable gets moved again to the left.

    I have that vol. Ill go read that section.

    Posted by Kymanika | January 15, 2007, 5:01 pm
  2. I don’t agree with everything Dabney says, but he has gems like this all throughout.

    I agree with what you are saying about T.V. I was talking to my wife about the same thing regarding the CSI shows. Even commercials allow so much in them that would have been considered immoral 50 years ago.

    It scares me to think of what the moral structure of our society will be like when my children are grown.

    May God send a revival!

    Posted by theologian | January 15, 2007, 5:13 pm
  3. I am not old enough to know, but I wonder if Radio did the same back in the day.

    I like this “how beneficent is the interruption of secular cares by the Sabbath’s break.”

    Church among other things, is one of my greatest “reset” buttons.

    Posted by Kymanika | January 15, 2007, 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

