//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Heb 2:11

I don’t like the way the ESV translates this verse…

For he who sanctifies and those who are sanctified all have one origin. That is why he is not ashamed to call them brothers

The “one origin” really bothers me.
I think that verse 14 of the same chapter sheds light on what the Bible is really saying here…

Since therefore the children share in flesh and blood, he himself likewise partook of the same things, that through death he might destroy the one who has the power of death, that is, the devil

The sanctified and the sanctifier are of one…flesh and blood. It is speaking of His taking on human nature, not of His origin.

The ESV seems to go against one of its principles here and seeks to interpret rather than translate.

About theologian

I'm a child of the King, my Father who is in Heaven, by the precious blood of His eternal Son, Jesus Christ. I am married with children and currently reside in Pennsylvania. I am a Pastor with the Association of Charismatic Reformed Churches (ACRC) working as an Urban Missionary in Chester, PA. Throughout my time in ministry God has also blessed me with opportunities for formal education by which I earned my terminal degree (Doctor of Theology) from New Geneva Theological Seminary in 2013.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

